Without having proper knowledge, it is difficult to upgrade or convert a company file into a newer version of QuickBooks Desktop. When you work on QuickBooks and the new version is available of QuickBooks, so must you do Quickbooks the company file needs to be updated your old version in the newer version, you will need to update your old company files as well. Therefore, here we are going to discuss to upgrade or convert your company file to a better version of QuickBooks.
It contains a step-by-step process that represents everything which you need to know to upgrade your company file. At any point, if you feel a discomfort doing it by yourself. We need to double check the data for errors in company file. Initially, you have to install the latest version of QuickBooks Desktop software and after that, you can upgrade or convert your company file. Please ask your QB admin to update the file.
This message you need to switch to the admin user and try again. This may take the conversion unsecured and puts the file at risk of being damaged. Infact, the QuickBooks Desktop Company file must be saved locally on the computer you are accessing it from. However QuickBooks Desktop automatically backup your data file before upgrading it.
In case if you want to return to the older version. You can always restore this back up with your old version of QuickBooks.
If the transformation process is interrupted for any reason then you can restore the backup with your new version of QuickBooks Desktop to restart the upgrade. If you want to try old version to latest version for upgrading or converting company just follow these steps:.
Do you want to continue? Before updating Your company file you need to do few things in your previous version, these things are given below. I hope this article is helpful for you. Talk to our Expert now and enjoy our most beloved support for this accounting software. Dial our Helpline now to know how we can help you. October 16th, Posted by: QuickBooks Desktop No Comments.
Leave a Reply Cancel reply. If you never created other users and roles Quickbooks the company file needs to be updated QuickBooks, you are automatically the Admin user. If you see the message, “The company file needs to be updated. Newer versions of QuickBooks provide enhanced features and bug fixes over previous versions.
If you have upgraded your software, you will need to update. Only the Admin user can update the QuickBooks company file.
the company file locally and take note of the mandatory backup location in case you need to.